I am Grand Valley and GrandPR

I AM GRAND VALLEY

Many students at GVSU use the #LakerForaLifetime on their social media posts that usually includes a picture with the famous T-Hass or Louie the Laker, the Mac Bridge, Blue Arch, Clock Tower and etc. Most of these can almost be known as the “landmarks” or “symbols” of Grand Valley. Or maybe one sees #LakerForaLifetime as a traditional experience they have with Grand Valley, like surviving the cold snow apocalypse and embracing the perfect Lake Michigan beach weather or wearing the free GVSU lanyards the first week as a freshman realizing later that it only notifies upperclassmen about your class status (we all did it, it’s okay).

For many students at GVSU, all of the above is what Laker for a Lifetime means. But that’s not exactly what Laker for a Lifetime represents. The Laker Leadership Programs (LLP) on campus has been working on a way for over 10 years to help build what being a GVSU student is all about. They started this program called “I am Grand Valley” to recognize student leaders. To me, I think being both a Laker for a Lifetime and I am Grand Valley is essentially the same thing. But the only difference is everyone who wants to be a Laker for a Lifetime can be a Laker for a Lifetime. To be nominated for I am Grand Valley is a huge honor and it means that you are known for going above and beyond and making a difference in and outside of the GVSU community.

Picture1

In the APR program, part of the mission is to educate students who are conscious of their beneficial role is society. I am very happy to announce that I, and among many others in the APR program, was nominated for I am Grand Valley. Including many of my colleagues in GrandPR- the nationally affiliated student run non-profit firm here at GVSU. Working with all of them has been an inspiration and seeing us come together (as students) and work together as a real firm would is absolutely amazing. Being a part of GrandPR these past two years (not to mention my last two years) at Grand Valley has taught me so many insightful tips that I will use every day after graduation and in society. GrandPR has helped bring me from being a Laker for a Lifetime to being I am Grand Valley.

And I know, not every one received an award, but that doesn’t mean give up hope. Everyone can keep pushing and one day receive an award or even be that proud shining leader (that I know everyone is) with or without the paper certificate. To me, we are all Grand Valley.

GrandPR has supported me, they have built me, and they have helped transform me be the young professional I am today.

Here is to you GrandPR, recipient or not, We are Grand Valley.

Picture2

For more information about the I Am Grand Valley Program click here.


Post by: Rachel Beatty

Rachel
Rachel Anne Beatty is a full time student at Grand Valley State University, majoring in Public Relations and Advertising with a double minor in Psychology and Studio art. Her drive for success is fueled by her passion to work in community relations and help under-privileged children. Rachel is very active on campus in Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA), GrandPR, and Phi Sigma Sigma. Previously in GrandPR Rachel served as an Account Associate for the Women’s Resource Center. Outside of school Rachel volunteers her time by serving on the JBoard of directors for the BISSELL Pet Foundation and spending her time at the local Kids Food Basket in Grand Rapids. She also works part time as the Second Assistant Manager at Yankee Candle in Byron Center. In her free time she enjoys a good match in tennis, spending time with family, painting, and practicing her culinary skills in the kitchen. Rachel’s top five strengths, according to the Clifton StrengthsFinder are Ideator, Developer, Relator, Indivualization, and Activator.

 

Leave a Reply

