Why Choose APR as a Major?

Why APR Blog Header

If you’re a college student like me, then you no doubt went through the process of trying to figure out what to do with the rest of your life (AKA declared a major). For me personally this was a turbulent and stressful time, but I knew I needed to get through it. There are plenty of things I wish I had known before I finally made a decision, but I have no doubt that I found where I was meant to be. In hopes of making the process a little easier for my (yet unknown) fellow APRers, I have created a list of a few reasons why to pick the field of advertising and public relations as a profession.

  1. It’s a growing industry:
    • Most people who are trying to figure out what to go to college for ask themselves the question, “Will I have a job when I get done?”  It’s not a bad question to ask given the size of the bills we get each semester. We have to pay the money back somehow. Right? Well the good news is that the advertising and public relations industry is growing, so you’re covered. In a world that is becoming consistently more connected, company leadership needs someone to help grow and maintain their brand image among various audiences. This includes communicating to their customers, employees, investors, communities, and the list goes on and on. Whether you are putting together an advertising campaign for a new product launch or a public relations campaign to improve employee relations, rest assured the expertise gained by studying APR is becoming more and more valuable.
  2. It is versatile:
    • Think for a second how many advertisements you have seen today alone. Now try and remember all of the companies or organizations that they were for. It’s a lot right? Now here is the real exciting thing, each of those organizations you’re thinking of (or more likely trying to remember) needed someone to conceptualize and get those advertisements to your eyes. What does that mean for you? It means that if you study APR and understand the process, then you will have the basic tools that any of those companies may need to help them get those ads published. That gives you (as an APR practitioner) a huge number of potential employers in a huge number of different industries. Even better than the number of places to be employed are your choices of focus among those places. If you have a specific personal interest it is likely that there is an opportunity to use your knowledge to promote something you’re passionate about.
  3. The people are great:
    • Okay, I’ll admit that this one may be a little biased, but it is true that the people in this industry really are great. From my experience, APR folks are hardworking, outgoing, caring, passionate individuals. I am not actually in the field with a full time career yet (#LifeGoals) and I am sure there will be exceptions, but I have never met someone in this industry that wasn’t willing to help out. Whether it be helping look over and edit a document, helping set-up networking meetings, or just being someone you can talk to over coffee, you can count on most PR people to be there for you. I have found that not to be true in other industries I have been involved with, so that is saying something.

Those are only three of  my top reasons  I think advertising and public relations is a great major to study. If you ask anyone else in this industry why they chose to study APR I’m sure they will have their own answers and they will be equally correct. If you are one of those people let us know what your reasons are by tweeting the hashtag #pickAPR to @gvsuAPR. Conversely, if you are like I once was and are confused about what to study, have any interest in the communications industry and enjoy working with people; I encourage you to at least check out what APR has to offer you. I have a feeling if you’re even a little interested in the industry, there is a good chance you will find a niche to work in and more importantly, YOUR people.


Post by: Jordan Punches

Jordan Punches is a senior at Grand Valley State University, majoring in Advertising/Public Relations with an emphasis on Public Relations. He is an enthusiastic account executive and an active Grand Valley PRSSA member. Jordan loves making connections with people and has lead a number of teams in various organizations, including serving a term in office at the state level for a leadership organization. He is organized, motivated, learns quickly and enjoys presentations and public speaking. Jordan actively looks for more opportunities to learn and develop his skills while always encouraging a good time.
Jordan Punches is a senior at Grand Valley State University, majoring in Advertising/Public Relations with an emphasis on Public Relations. He is an enthusiastic account executive and the alumni relations chair of the Grand Valley PRSSA. Jordan loves making connections with people and has lead a number of teams in various organizations, including serving a term in office at the state level for a leadership organization. He is organized, motivated, learns quickly and enjoys presentations and public speaking. Jordan actively looks for more opportunities to learn and develop his skills while always encouraging a good time.
2 thoughts on “Why Choose APR as a Major?

  1. I enjoyed reading this, Jordan. I find similar beliefs about the APR major and your blog post excited me for what’s to come for us hardworking, outgoing students!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Brianna. I am excited too. I am glad that I get to work my whole life surrounded by students and professionals with those qualities.

      – Jordan

      Like

Leave a Reply

